Unit 223 Reporter

News from Southern Illinois-Paducah Unit 223

Editor: Janet Jones, 100 Fairway Drive, Harrisburg IL 61946

(618-252-7979) -- janetjones51@gmai

Our Unit 223

As we begin a new year, I thought it may be beneficial to give some information about our Unit 223 board and our clubs. 

We have 305 current active members in ten active clubs. The number of new members in the past three years is 43 and the average age of the members is 71.55.  Obviously, we need to work on getting new, younger, members!

The active clubs in Illinois are:

Piasa Bridge Club in Alton

Denzel Bridge Club in Carbondale

DuQuoin Duplicate Bridge Club in DuQuoin

Edwardsville Duplicate Bridge Club in Edwardsville

Effingham Park District Bridge Club in Effingham

Monday Bridge Club in Harrisburg

Yorktown Duplicate Club in O’Fallon

The active clubs in the Paducah area are:

Fulton Duplicate Club in Fulton

Mayfield Duplicate Bridge Club in Mayfield

Paducah Duplicate Bridge Club in Paducah

The District 8, Unit 223 board is as follows. These members volunteer their time so that we can have the clubs and tournaments that we have. Kudos to all of them!

President, Franklin Jay Coleman

Vice President, Paul Hartke

Secretary, Joanne Vollmer

Treasurer, Tom Wynn

Electronic Contact, Janet K Jones

Unit Webmaster, Joanne Vollmer

Disciplinary Chair, Franklin Jay Coleman

Unit Recorder, Joan Musgrave

Unit Business Manager, Tom Wynn

Unit Tournament Coordinator, Jim Kallaher

Publicity Chair, Pamela Ames

Hospitality Chair, Kate C Dickens

Unit IN Coordinator, Janet K Jones

Unit Charity Chair, Tom Wynn

Unit Education Liaison, Col Christopher C Shaw

Unit GNT Coordinator, Robert Cundall

Other Board of Directors members are Maxine Wynn and Joyce Clark.

2017 McCord Trophy Final Standings

1.     Charles Keltner, Highland IL

2.     Pamela Ames, Maryville IL

3.     Vicky Valley Edwardsville IL

4.     Kadie Davis, Maryville, IL

5.     Franklin Jay Coleman, Hutsonville IL

6.     Carol Phillips, Godfrey IL

7.     Linda Key, O’Fallon IL

8.     Joyce Kirby, Glen Carbon IL

9.     Donna Murphy, Worden IL

10.  Marcia Darnell, Murray KY

11.  Sterling Dare, O’ Fallon IL

12.  Robert Cundall, Collinsville IL

13.  Ronald Brockman, Paducah KY

14.  Dennis Rose, Paducah KY

15.  Margi Dyer, Mayfield KY

16.  Doug Snow Paducah KY

17.  Jane Baker Paducah KY

18.  Larry Lemon, Mayfield KY

Hats Off to Two New Sectional Masters

    Kathy Harasimowicz of Cardondale

    Mr. Thomas J O’Hara of Fairview Heights