CIBA Digest

News from Central Illinois Unit 208      Unit Website:

Editor:  Karen Walker,  2121 Lynwood Drive,  Champaign IL  61821
    (217) 359-0042

Silver Point Stars

Many of our Unit members had big successes in the Fall Silver Point Sectional, held at local clubs the week of October 30. Congratulations to these Central Illinois players who placed in the top 100 of the 1230 participants in District 8:

15.20  Wes Seitz, Champaign

15.14  Rosemary Dougherty, Springfield            

13.82  Steve Babin, Normal

13.37  Eunice Patton, Bloomington

11.54  Mark Beattie, Sherman

11.20  Zach Freehill, Bloomington

10.23  Lori Moore, Bloomington

 9.65  Mark Schollenberger, Springfield

 9.32  George Veenstra, Springfield

 9.11  Joyce Clay, Bloomington

 9.11  Bob Derber, Springfield

 9.11  Bob Clay, Bloomington

 8.95  Cindy Moore, Bloomington

 7.95  Bill Strauss, Urbana

 7.81  Christine Carroll, Champaign        

 7.66  Charlie Morton, Bloomington

 7.39  Betty Kunkel, Springfield

 7.07  Linda Segebart, Champaign

 6.71  Ray Dostal, Bloomington

The next Silver Point Sectional is coming up the week of February 5, 2018. Check with your local club manager for details on the special games in your area.

North American Pairs

Thank you to everyone who played in the District 8 North American Pair finals in Urbana on November 12. Seven Central Illinois pairs qualified to represent District 8 in the national finals in Philadelphia PA in March. Congratulations and good luck to:

A2 - Mike Halvorsen, Champaign IL (with Richard Blumenthal, Crystal Lake IL)

B1 - Mike Tomlianovich & Ann Schuyler, Bloomington IL

B2 - Milt Epstein, Urbana IL - Gary Dell, Champaign IL

B4 - Mary Stuart, Urbana IL - Jim Slaughter, Champaign IL

C1 -  Patrick & Nancy Chesley, Springfield IL

C2 -  Bill Thompson & Linda Segebart, Champaign IL

C4 -  Jean Brunson & Mike Marlow, Champaign IL


Illini Champaign Regional -- May 22-28, 2018

It's not too early to begin making plans for our Unit's annual regional, coming up Memorial Day week in Champaign.

We'll again be playing in the Hawthorn Suites hotel and offering lots of extras, including a speakers program, entry-fee discounts, nightly snacks and a hotel hospitality suite for socializing after the game. Bridge rate is $95 for a suite with kitchen, one or two beds, sleeper sofa and free wifi. Room rate includes daily hot breakfast and Wednesday-night dinner.  

This year's schedule features three Gold Rush Pair events and the popular Combo Pairs/Teams. You can check out the 2018 events on the tournament schedule page .

Looking for a local game? 

There are club games in 13 cities in our Central Illinois Unit 208. To get details about game schedules or find partners, visit the club web site or call or email the club manager. You can also find schedules and contact information on the Find a Club page on the ACBL web site.

Unit 208 clubs with web sites:

Bloomington -- Mike's Bridge Club

Canton -- Canton/Spoon River DBC

Champaign -- Bridge at Ginger Creek

Peoria & Pekin -- Peoria Bridge Club

Springfield -- Bridge Club of Springfield     

Other Central Illinois clubs:

Charleston DBC
   Grant Sterling   217-348-8385

Danville DBC
   Al Wagner   217-442-8968

Commodore Bridge Club
   Jay Poling   217-422-0095 
             (cell: 217-972-5229)

Galesburg DBC
   Ronald Greek   309-341-2305

Jacksonville YMCA DBC
   Charles Sheaff   217-371-8855

Paris D Players
   Joanna Hebermehl    217-466-4470

Gem City DBC

   John Tompkins 217-740-2428


In Memory

We were saddened by the loss of two of our Central Illinois friends. 

George Nett, 71, passed away in October in Ocean Shores WA. Formerly of Macomb IL, George and his wife Susan moved to Washington 13 years ago.

Dr. Jim Carbaugh of Metamora IL died on November 29. He was an active tournament player with more than 4000 masterpoints. He most recently played in the Cedar Falls IA Sectional on November 10-12.

Movin' Up:  Congratulations to these Unit members who recently advanced in rank:

Welcome to new members:

Ann Collins, Springfield

Sarah Crayton, Brimfield

James Rosenthal, Springfield

Lynn Rosenthal, Springfield

Shipra Somani, Springfield

Jon Welch, Peoria


Junior Master (5 pts.)                         

Leonard Galkowski, Springfield

Richard Hornbaker, Princeton

Judy Nowak, Champaign

John Weaver, Ridgefarm


Sectional Master (50 pts.)     

David Hicks, Rochester

Terry Huebsch, Bloomington

Carroll Kinnaman, Bloomington

Paula Schultz, Springfield

Jackie Weatherford, Springfield

Regional Master (100 pts.) 

Rosie Camille, Springfield

Alice Whited, Sun City AZ


NABC Master (200 pts.)

Michael Heneghan, Forsyth


Life Master (300 pts.)

Mark Schollenberger, Springfield   


Bronze Life Master (500 pts.)

Sallie Boge, Bloomington

Wes Seitz, Champaign


Silver Life Master (1000 pts.)

Donna Barbian, Springfield


Ruby Life Master (1500 pts.)

Ronald Emmett, Normal


Gold Life Master (2500 pts.)

Terry Goodykoontz, Tolono