CIBA Digest

News from Central Illinois Unit 208      Unit Website:

Editor:  Karen Walker, 2121 Lynwood Drive, Champaign   61821
 (217) 359-0042

Would you like to serve on the Unit Board?

If you live in one of the counties below, this is the year to elect your representative to the Unit 208 Board of Directors:

Area #2:  Henry, Stark, Mercer, Knox, Warren, Henderson, Fulton, McDonough, Hancock, Schuyler, Adams, Brown & Pike  Counties. (Incumbent: Ron Greek)

Area #5:  McLean, LaSalle, Grundy, Woodford & Livingston Counties. (Incumbent: Mike Tomlianovich)

The Area Representative meets with the Board three times a year at our Unit sectionals.

Anyone from these areas who would like to run for a seat on the Board should send name and ACBL number to Unit Secretary Debbie Avery by August 31. You can contact Debbie by email:

Happy Century Birthday

The happiest of birthday wishes to Christine Carroll of Champaign, who celebrated her 100th on July 29.

After being honored with multiple parties at Bridge at Ginger Creek in Champaign, Christine celebrated her actual birthday by playing bridge with Pat Carrington at the Bloomington IL club -- and placing first.

The Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette published a feature on Christine in May. The text was reprinted in the June issue of the Advocate ("99 and going strong").

Keep it up, Christine!

In Memory

We were saddened by the loss of Phil Kenney of Eureka IL. Phil died on June 26 at age 85.

Phil was a Korean War veteran and was retired from a 41-year career at the Farmers Grain Co-op in Eureka.

A Life Master with more than 1000 points, Phil was a regular player at clubs in Bloomington IL. The photo with JoAnn Schroeder was taken after they won the Wednesday Choice Pairs at the Illini Regional in May.

Illinois Senior Olympics Bridge Tournament

♠  Tuesday, August 29 -- 1:00 pm (one session) 

Erin's Pavilion, Southwind Park, 4965 South 2nd, Springfield IL

Silver points, medals and refreshments for ages 50+.

Info & partners: Mike Tomlianovich

Movin' Up 

See the ACBL website for a list of all masterpoint ranks and the requirements for achieving each. Requirements for those who joined ACBL after January 2, 2010 are here.

Congratulations to these Unit members who recently advanced in rank:

Junior Master  (5)
Marcia Bunchman, Springfield
Jim Hinchen, Jacksonville
Earl Lawrence, Springfield
Cynthis Macholan, Washington
Susan Sawers, Chatham
Deb Silkwood, Springfield

Club Master  (20)                           
Richard Dubroff, Normal
Annette Krause, Peoria
Ann Nixon, Galesburg

Sectional Master  (50)                           
Barbara Wilson, Decatur

Regional Master  (100)                           
Gerald Bumgardner, Springfield

NABC Master  (200)                           
Virginia Lang, Springfield
Patricia Lloyd, Springfield
Linda Segebart, Champaign

Advanced NABC Master  (300)                           
Nancy Chesley, Springfield
Patrick Chesley, Springfield
Mark Schollenberger, Springfield

Life Master
Bill Strauss, Urbana

Bronze Life Master (500)
Lane O'Connor, Towanda

Silver Life Master  (1000)                           
Jeffrey Furler, Bloomington
David Short, Champaign

Ruby Life Master (1500) 
Randal Malone, Charleston
Lori Moore, Bloomington
Robert Steigmann, Urbana

Sapphire Life Master (3500)
Leonard Kaufman, Peoria 

Illini Regional Winners

 OskeeWowWow KO Teams, Bracket 2
Milt Epstein, Bob Shair, Peter Yeh,
Shih-Tang Su (with Gary Dell)

 Double winners -- Wednesday Open Swiss (Flt. C)
and Blue Morning Swiss Teams (Flts. B & C)
Patrick & Nancy Chesley,
Virginia Lang & Patricia Lloyd 

Triple winners -- OskeeWowWow KO,
Sunday Barometer Pairs, Monday Swiss Teams
Mark Kessler & Steve McConnell

Play for the Pets Charity Pairs
Bill Harris & Clay Cuthbertson

Saturday Open Pairs:  
John Russell & Norm Coombs

Wednesday Open Swiss Teams
Alan Popkin, Karen Walker, Nancy Popkin,
Tod Moses (with Nate Ward)